Changing Sexual Orientation Does Not Matter

The main goal of my ministry or any ministry to the gay community should NOT be to get people to “change” their sexual orientation. If this is the main goal of ministries then its worth is nothing because in Christianity that is no where near the central mission. If I have ever made it seem that this is the goal of my ministry, I beg for forgiveness from God because that means I have miss placed priorities. If any person changes their behavior but does not receive forgiveness from Christ, it is worthless. How can we strive for sanctification without receiving justification? It cannot happen. Without being made right with God through repentance and forgiveness of sins, no character can truly change. They will simply be changes upon the surface with the same dead heart. A body cannot begin to live again until it has been brought back to life!! Without Christ, every man is condemned to hell. It is not straight people that go to heaven. Both straight and gay people go to hell unless they are redeemed through Christ.

“But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ,….” Philippians 3:7-8

Nothing in life matters until Christ has entered the scene of our lives. Solomon found what happens when we strive for sanctification before finding justification.

“Then I saw that there is more gain in wisdom than in folly, as there is more gain in light than in darkness….And yet I perceived that the same event happens to all of them. Then I said in my heart, ‘What happens to the fool will happen to me also. Why then have I been so very wise?’ And I said in my heart that this also is vanity.” Ecclesiastes 4:8

When a man is give the gift of repentance and believes in Jesus as his Lord and Savior, his life will naturally be transformed. Many of my brothers and sisters in Christ, who I know, that have left the gay life did not do so till after they became Christians. Many of them became Christians either still believing homosexuality was not a sin or not knowing what to think on the issue. Does this mean their repentance was not sincere? Of course it was sincere. This I am sure of because God does not reveal all of our sins to us at the moment of salvation. If He did, I think it would scare us from trusting Him with our lives. Instead, He reveals our sin gradually as He transforms us into the image of Christ. “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:18

The hardest part of course is not realizing our sin but giving over our sin to the Lord to become more like Him. We must always remember that we do not work in order to be saved but that our works come forth from being saved. As David Platt said at Secret Church, “We must not be legalistic which leads to contamination and condemnation. Work that is fueled by the flesh to earn favor before God is negative and unholy. Work that is fueled by faith to bring glory to God is the product of our salvation.”

Leave a Reply

