Illogical Arguments Against God

It seems a prevalent response of atheists against the existence of God is that “evolution has taken away our need for God.” The sad thing is that many Christians continue discussing almost believing this idea. It is illogical. Many in Western society have come to think that the theory of evolution and the debate over the existence of God are connected. In reality, these two things do not deal with each other in anyway. Evolution is not a theory on how the world began but on how it developed. It does not answer the question of how the world came into existence. I do want to state that I do not personally believe in the theory of evolution because it has some gaps and logic problems. Yet, it is very possible that God could have created the process of evolution. Nothing is impossible with Him. He very often does things that we would not predict.

My main problem I am trying to explain here is that it seems the main arguments against God’s existence actually have little to do with the subject. The Big Bang Theory has been thought to be contrary to God’s existence, but in reality, whether or not it is absolutely accurate, it shows that this world had a beginning. No offense to the modern atheists but the ancient atheists held a much more logical stance than what is held now. What I mean is that a majority of atheists in the past believed that this world had no beginning. Instead it had been eternally in existence. This took out the need for a Creator and beginning. When an atheist today claims that the universe had a beginning but still claims no God, he brings logical problems into play. Not everything in existence has a cause, but everything that has a beginning certainly has a cause. Therefore something had to cause this world to begin existing and it must have come from outside.

To my Christian brothers and sisters, we need to be careful not to fight a theory or idea so fast because it is new. We do not need to embrace it or accept it in anyway, but we must rationally look at its evidence and effects upon the truths we already hold. Also remember what Paul told Timothy in his second letter, “Have nothing to do with foolish, ignorant controversies; you know that they breed quarrels. And the Lord’s servant must not be quarrelsome but kind to everyone, able to teach, patiently enduring evil, correcting his opponents with gentleness. God may perhaps grant them repentance leading to a knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, after being captured by him to do his will.”*

5 responses to “Illogical Arguments Against God

  • noreligion

    “Evolution has taken away our need for God” is not an argument for the non-existence of god. It is a characterization that some christians accuse atheists of.

  • confusedious

    You mentioned some gaps and logic problems with evolution. Let me know what these are that I may explain them to you.

    • jtproctor

      Sorry it has taken me a while to write back. There are numerous issues including the lack of evidence of extreme gradual change between species. Therefore evolutionists theorized that species can make leaps in evolution which has not been seen in our own time. Also the contradiction of natural selection and genetics becoming more complex. Let me say one thing though as you can probably already tell though. I do acknowledge the presence of micro evolution but my problem is with macro. Obviously, I am not a scientist so I cannot speak or debate in extreme detail but as scientists share their thoughts on theories of theology, I, a theologian, share my thoughts on theories of science.

  • confusedious

    Hello, that’s prefectly fine, take your time. I’m sure you are busy like any of us. I am a scientist (though a young one, early in my career) and have based virtually all of my work to date on evolution. Do you have some examples of the macroevolutionary leaps you are speaking of? I’ll look into them.

    Fair though that as a non-scientist you do not engage in heavy scientific debate, a reasonable stand point. Obviously I am not a theologan, though I must add that prior to studying science I was seriously considering life as a brother of the Order Friars Minor. I was raised a Catholic and have spent a lot of time contemplating God, bible study, retreats, the works really. I even explored protestantism and even other Abrahamic faiths after becomming disillusioned with the Roman church. It’s not what many Christians like to hear but it was actually my close examination of religion that led me to science and ultimately atheism.

Leave a Reply

